Hospitals Discuss Best Practices at Indiana Patient Safety Summit
June 6, 2018
Hospitals Discuss Best Practices at Indiana Patient Safety Summit

More than 300 health care professionals attended yesterday's Indiana Patient Safety Summit in Carmel. Hosted by the Indiana Patient Safety Center, the summit included sessions on transparency in medical records and the Stress Management and Resiliency Training (SMART) program as well as presentations from winners of the 2017 and 2018 Patient Safety Awards. The nominees for the 2018 awards had the opportunity to display poster presentations showcasing their work. The winners of this year's awards are as follows:

  • Patient Safety Innovation Award: Franciscan Health Hammond was recognized for its Comprehensive Transitions of Care Pharmacy Program, which has bridged gaps in the transition of care from the hospital to the home and decreased readmissions of high-risk patients.
  • Patient Safety Service & Leadership Award: Dr. Tim Hobbs, senior advisor to clinical transformation at Community Health Network, was honored for hardwiring processes that have engaged caregivers in developing system-based improvements to advance patient care.
  • Patient Safety Partner Award: The Indiana State Department of Health was recognized for its dedication to promoting and providing essential public health services for a healthier and safer Indiana.   

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners. View photos from yesterday's event on the IHA Facebook page. ​

Advocacy; IHA; Member; Patient Safety