Council on Quality & Patient Safety

​​​​​​Providing Leadership and Guidance on Patient Safety

The Council on Quality and Patient Safety (CQ&PS) meets quarterly to address the patient safety issues effecting Indiana hospitals and their patients. 

In addition, the Council:

  • Provides guidance on IHA’s patient safety activities.
  • Assists IHA in developing positions on federal and state patient safety and quality improvement initiatives.
  • Advises the IHA Board of Directors, Indiana Patient Safety Center and staff on quality improvement and patient safety needs of IHA members and recommends programs to support those needs.
  • Monitors the activities of organizations that impact quality improvement, such as the National Quality Forum, accrediting bodies and various state and federal regulatory agencies.


​Meetings are held from 10 a.m. - noon in the Basement Conference Room ​at the IHA Office at 500 N. Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204

  • ​Wednesday, March 11
  • ​​Friday, July 31
  • Thursday, Nov. 5


Karin K​ennedy, Administrative Director of the Indiana Patient Safety Center
Annette Handy, Clinical Director of the Indiana Patient Safety Center

For more information about ho​w to get involved with the CQ&PS, email Karin Kennedy or call 317-423-7737.


Council members generally include CEOs, CMOs, CNEs, patient safety officers, quality professionals, infection control practitioners, and members of governing boards interested in safety. IHA would like to thank our council members and partners for their time, expertise, and commitment to improving patient safety.

Brian Herwig
President and CEO
Perry  County Memorial Hospital
2020 CQ&PS Council Chair

Jeffrey Boord, M.D.
Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer
Parkview Health

Paula Bostwick
Parkview Behavioral Health

Sylvia Coffing
Unity Medical & Surgical Hospital

Yvonne Culpepper
Hendricks Regional Health

Christopher Dowers​
Bloomington Meadows Hospital​

Michelle Fenoughty
​Sr. VP Medical Affairs/CMO
Hendricks Regional Health

James Fuller
Indianapolis Coalition for Patient Safety

Stephanie Grace
Manager - Quality, Safety, and Accreditation Bedford and Paoli
Indiana University Health Bedford Hospital

LeAnne Horn
Network Vice President - Quality and Risk
Community Health Network

Deb Hummel
Lead Quality and Safety Programs Liaison
Rush Memorial Hospital

Jeanette Huntoon
VP​ of Physician Network/Director of Quality
Logansport Memorial Hospital

Anita Keller
Johnson Memorial Health

Nancy Kennedy, M.D.
Dearborn County Hospital​

Sherry Kight
Bluffton Regional Medical Center

Lisa Leckrone
Director of Quality
St. Mary Medical Center

Angela Logan
Sr. VP of Nursing/CNO
Cameron Memorial Community Hospital, Inc.

Crissy Lough
Chief Quality, Risk, Regulatory Officer
Sodneu & Lois Eskenazi Hospital

Jo May
Administrative Director - Quality Improvement
Franciscan Health Indianapolis

Vicki McHenry
Director Progressive Service
Greene County General Hospital

Ronda McKay
Chief Nurse Executive
Community Hospital (Munster)

Sheerin Moss
​Director of Quality Management
Vibra Hospital of Northwestern Indiana

Angela Mounsey
Manager - Quality Improvement/Care Continuum 
Marion General Hospital

Brandy Nord
Patient Safety Officer
Memorial Hospital and Health Care Center

Amy Pettit
Vice President or Nursing/CNO
Schneck Medical Center

Leigh Poeppelman
Quality Manager
Elkhart General Hospital

Stacey Pomeroy
Director of Quality
Indiana University Health North Hospital

Michele Saysana, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics in IU School of Medicine 
​and Riley Hospital for Children

Vincent Sevier
Sr. VP Chief Quality Director
Methodist Hospitals, Northlake Campus

Michael Smith
Executive Director for Quality, Risk and Accreditation
Daviess Community Hospital

Steve Swinney
Physician at St. Vincent Physician Network
St. Vincent Health

Stephanie Tooley
Executive Director of Quality
St. Vincent Indianapolis Health

Larry Tracy
Memorial Hospital of South Bend

​Beverly Walton
Executive Director
Community Patient Safety Coalition of Southwestern Indiana/Kentucky, Inc. (CPSC)

Linda Webb
Pulaski Memorial Hospital

Suki Wright
Executive Director Quality & Compliance
Decatur County Memorial Hospital

Linda Zeese
Manager, Performance Improvement
Mishawaka Medical Center